Saturday afternoon speakers

Elder David B. Haight of the Quorum of the Twelve

Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin of the Quorum of the TwelveElder Richard G. Scott of the Quorum of the Twelve

Elder Jeffrey R. Holland of the Quorum of the Twelve

Elder F. Burton Howard of the First Quorum of the Seventy

Nine new General Authorities took their seats among the other Brethren after they were sustained during the Saturday afternoon session. Eight of the new General Authorities were called to the Second Quorum of the Seventy and one to the First Quorum. In addition two others were called from the Second Quorum to the First Quorum.

President Thomas S. Monson conducted the session. President James E. Faust conducted the conference business, which included the sustaining of President Gordon B. Hinckley, his counselors and the other General Authorities at the beginning of the session.

Music was provided by the Ricks College Combined Choirs under the direction of Kevin Brower and Richard Robinson, with Bonnie Goodliffe at the organ.

The invocation and benediction were given by Elder William R. Bradford and Elder Marlin K. Jensen, respectively, both of the Seventy.

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed