In the News
In the Almanac

Church announces creation of 4 new missions, dissolving of 12 others

Church announces creation of 4 new missions, dissolving of 12 others

Four newly created missions have been announced by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, with 12 existing missions being dissolved into neighboring missions.

These changes will take place July 1, at which time the Church will have a total of 399 missions worldwide.

The new missions are:

  • Democratic Republic of the Congo Kinshasa East
  • Guatemala Antigua
  • Peru Limatambo
  • Philippines Antipolo

The 12 existing missions to be folded into neighboring missions — including seven in the United States — are:

  • Argentina Posadas
  • California Irvine
  • California Long Beach
  • California Rancho Cucamonga
  • Canada Halifax
  • Florida Tallahassee
  • Georgia Macon
  • Idaho Nampa
  • Japan Sendai
  • Korea Daejeon
  • New York Utica
  • Virginia Chesapeake

The mission changes were announced in a Wednesday, Jan. 2, statement, which noted a leveling off in the number of full-time missionaries since the 2012 age-change announcement. The number reached 88,000 at its height and has dropped since to today’s 65,000.

Parents of missionaries serving in the affected missions — whether created or dissolved — will receive additional information from their mission presidents. Information about new mission presidents will be announced later in January.

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed