In the News

More than 40% of Canadian Latter-day Saints live in which province?

More than 40% of Canadian Latter-day Saints live in which province?

Alberta, Ontario and British Columbia have the largest populations of Latter-day Saints among Canadian provinces and territories.

A little more than 40% of Church members who live in Canada are Alberta residents. That province also has three of the nation’s nine Latter-day Saint temples, in Cardston, Calgary and Edmonton. Five other provinces — British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec and Nova Scotia — each have one temple. And the Winnipeg Manitoba Temple will be dedicated next month.

Following is a list of Canadian provinces and territories, and what portion of the nation’s Latter-day Saint population lives in each area (calculated from statistics listed on the Church’s Newsroom):

  • Alberta — 41.4%
  • Ontario — 26.9%
  • British Columbia — 15.6%
  • Quebec — 6.2%
  • Saskatchewan — 2.8%
  • Nova Scotia — 2.6%
  • Manitoba — 2.4%
  • New Brunswick — 1.2%
  • Newfoundland — 0.4%
  • Prince Edward Island — 0.3%
  • Yukon — 0.1%
  • Northwest Territories — 0.1%

Alberta is also the Canadian province with the most Church members per capita — just over 2% of the province’s population, or about 1 in every 50 Albertans.

Yukon territory is second, with 0.75% of its population as Church members. British Columbia, Nova Scotia and Saskatchewan also have between 0.5% and 1% of their populations as Latter-day Saints.

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed