Presidential scholars

Eight LDS youth were among the 141 Presidential Scholars from the Class of 1990 chosen by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars. Those honored include: Kristin Gunnerson, Edison High School, Huntington Beach, Calif.; Jennifer B. Smith, Kahuku (Hawaii) High School; Amy C. Sievers, Kwajalein Junior-Senior High School, Marshall Islands; Robert J. Jensen, Evanston (Wyo.) High School; Mary Carol Jones, Big Piney (Wyo.) High School, Bryan A. Bohling, Bountiful (Utah) High School; Kimberly A. Palmer, Bear River High School in Tremonton, Utah; and Catherine M. Cannon, Highland High School in Salt Lake City. Lauro F. Cavazos, U.S. Secretary of Education, presented the Presidential Medallions at a ceremony at Georgetown University. The students and their families were greeted by First Lady Barbara Bush. The Presidential Scholar program was established in 1964 by U.S. President Lyndon Johnson to recognize and honor the nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

Sorry, no more articles available