Works qualify members for each kingdom of glory

The Doctrine and Covenants section 76 lays the framework for Church members to understand the celestial, terrestrial and telestial kingdoms - and the works they must do to qualify for each, said Larry E. Dahl, associate dean of BYU Religious Education, during the Sidney B. Sperry Symposium Oct. 19.

"Those who go to the celestial kingdom are those who receive a testimony of Jesus and the gospel," said Brother Dahl. "Those who go to the terrestrial kingdom have a testimony of Jesus but do not have a complete understanding of the gospel. Those who qualify for the telestial kingdom reject both."Brother Dahl said requirements for the celestial kingdom include (D&C 76: 51-53):

  • A testimony of Jesus.
  • A belief in His name.
  • Baptism.
  • Receiving the Holy Spirit.
  • Obedience to commandments.
  • Overcome by faith.
  • Sealed by the Holy Spirit of Promise.

Brother Dahl continued that those who receive the terrestrial kingdom. (D&C 76: 71-79):

  • Die without the law.
  • Receive not a testimony of Jesus in the flesh, but afterwards.
  • Are honorable men, blinded by the craftiness of men.
  • Are not valiant in the testimony of Jesus.

Brother Dahl said those who enter the telestial kingdom can be described as those who (D&C 76: 82-83, 99-103):

  • Deny not the Holy Spirit.
  • Say they are some of one, and some of another, but received not the gospel, neither the testimony of Jesus.
  • Are Liars, Sorcerers, adulterers, whoremongers and whoever loves and makes a lie.

Sorry, no more articles available