6 full-time general authorities released

New counselors called in Young Men presidency

Six general authorities were released from full-time service and other changes among Area Authority Seventies and the general Young Men presidency were also announced Saturday during the 173rd Semiannual General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Three members of the First Quorum of Seventy — Elder Angel Abrea, Elder William R. Bradford and Elder Cree-L Kofford — were granted emeritus status and released from full-time church service.

Also released were three members from the Second Quorum of the Seventy — Elder Duane B. Gerrard, Elder J. Kent Jolley and Elder D. Lee Tobler.

In the Young Men General Presidency, Glenn L. Pace, first counselor, and Spencer J. Condie, second counselor, were both released. They had served since October 2001. Elder Lynn G. Robbins was named as the new first counselor, with Elder Donald L. Hallstrom called to serve as second counselor. Elder F. Melvin Hammond was retained as president.

Four new Area Authority Seventies, whose callings had been previously announced, were sustained Saturday — Jose A. Castro, 37, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; William K. Jackson, 47, New Delhi, India; Paul V. Johnson, 49, Sandy; and Jay L. Sitterud, 56, Highland, Utah.

Released from part-time service as Area Authority Seventies were: Henry F. Acebedo, Blair S. Bennett, Craig A. Bullock, Raimondo Castellani, Christopher N. Chukwurah, Lawrence R. Fuller, Ruben G. Gapiz, Harvey L. Gardner, Francisco G. Gimenez, John A. Grinceri, Shih An Liang, Emmanuel O. Opare, Sr., Alain A. Petion, Claudio D. Signorelli, R. Lloyd Smith, Tomas Valdes and Chung Hei (Patrick) Wong.

Elder Abrea, now on emeritus status, was sustained to the First Quorum of the Seventy in 1981; Elder Kofford was called to the Second Quorum of Seventy in 1991 and Elder Gerrard had been a member of the Second Quorum since 1997.

Elder Jolly was sustained to the Second Quorum of the Seventy in 1997, and Elder Tobler followed him into the same quorum in1998. Elder Bradford had been a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy since 1975.

Sorry, no more articles available