New mission organized in Laoag; 14th in Philippines

Three missions in the northern part of Luzou in the Philippines are being re-organized to create a fourth mission; the Philippines Laoag Mission.

The Ilagan, Baguio and Olongapo missions, with a combined estimated population of 7.6 million residents, will be re-configured to create the Laoag mission, the 14th mission in the Philippines. The mission will be headquartered in Laoag on the northwestern tip of the island.

The new mission will be created in October. It becomes the 338th mission of the Church.

The 18,910 members residing in the Laoag mission are organized into three stakes, five districts and 52 wards or branches.

Stakes included are: Batac, Laoag and Narvacan. Districts include; Aparri, Ballesteros, Bangued, Bangui and Vigan.

Jerry W. Hatch of the Idaho Falls 7th Ward, Idaho Falls Idaho North Stake, has been called to preside. He will be accompanied by his wife, Marilyn Kay Hatch. They are currently serving as senior missionaries in the Philippines area. (A biographical sketch will be included in next week's Church News).

The 46,217 members in the Baguio mission are organized into seven stakes: Baguio Bayambang, Dagupan, Lingayen, Rosales, San Fernando La Union and Urdaneta. The six districts are: Agoo, Aguilar, Bauang, Calasiao, Mangaldan and Mapandan.

The 25,470 members residing in the Ilagan mission are organized into four stakes: Burgos, Ilagan, Santiago and Tuguegarao; and, four districts; Alicia, Bambang, Cauayan and Solano.

The 21,476 members in the Olongapo mission are organized into the Balanga stake; and seven districts: Alaminos, Dinalupihan, Iba, Olongapo, Orion, San Antonio and Santa Cruz.

Sorry, no more articles available