Conference highlights

The Church's 175th Semiannual General Conference was an "inspirational feast at the table of the Lord," said President Gordon B. Hinckley in the closing moments of the worldwide meeting.

Held in the Conference Center and sent via satellite across the world, the conference was translated into 80 languages and heard by "people in many, many lands."

"The music, the prayers, the talks have been wonderful. We have been informed and uplifted; our faith has been strengthened," said President Hinckley.

New temple announced

During the two day conference, held Oct. 1-2, President Hinckley indicated that the Church has procured — through the generosity of developers — property for two future temple sites. He then announced the construction of a new temple on one of those properties, located in the southwest quadrant of the Salt Lake Valley in the Daybreak development.

The Church is also moving forward with new temples in Rexburg and Twin Falls, Idaho; in Sacramento, California; in Helsinki, Finland; in Panama City, Panama; in Curitiba, Brazil; and another which, President Hinckley said, has not yet been announced but soon will be.

President Hinckley also noted that the Church is working on complex computer technology to prevent the duplication of proxy work. "Preliminary indications are that it will work, and if this is so, it will be a truly remarkable thing with worldwide implications," he said.

Two called to Presidency of Seventy

During the Saturday afternoon session of the conference, Elder Neil L. Andersen and Elder Ronald A. Rasband were sustained to the Presidency of the Seventy, succeeding Elder David E. Sorensen and Elder John H. Groberg, who were released from the First Quorum of the Seventy and given emeritus status.

Also released from the First Quorum of the Seventy and named Emeritus General Authorities were Elder F. Melvin Hammond, Elder Harold G. Hillam and Elder F. Burton Howard.

Elder Darwin B. Christenson, Elder Adhemar Damiani, Elder H. Aldridge Gillespie, Elder Stephen B. Oveson, Elder Ned B. Roueche and Elder Dennis E. Simmons were released as members of the Second Quorum of the Seventy.

Sorry, no more articles available