Country information: Equatorial Guinea

Jan. 1, 2009: Est. population, 633,000; Members, 339; percent LDS; .05or one in 1,867;Africa Southeast Area.

Equatorial Guinea, previously known as Spanish Guinea, became independent from Spain on 12 October 1968. Located on the coast of Western Africa, near the equator, it's bordered by the Bight of Biafra, Cameroon, and Gabon. The people are predominantly Christian, while others follow pagan practices. The official languages are Spanish and French, with pidgin English, Fang, Bubi, and Ibo also spoken.

Few members live in the country, but occasionally Latter-day Saints have served there in behalf of the United Nations and other humanitarian agencies over the past decades. In March 1980, there was one known member of the Church in the country, Matias Mba Nlutumo, who had been baptized in the Spain Barcelona Mission.

Equatorial Guinea was included in the Ivory Coast Abidjan Mission when the mission was created on 1 February 1992, but by July 2005, it was no longer associated with a mission.

Sources: "News of the Church," Ensign, June 1992; "Three Areas to be Realigned Aug. 15," Church News, 14 June 2003.

Sorry, no more articles available