BYU announces Benson Scholars

The Benson scholarship is the top scholarship award given by BYU, with each recipient receiving a minimum of $12,000 for four years.

The Utah recipients are as follows: Emily Bankhead, Michael Wayne Durham and Nephi Allred of Provo; Marshall Grant Bartlett and James Patterson of Orem; Matthew T. Bentley, Amy Susan Cragun and Angela Denise Wentz of Logan; Stanley Gordon of Vernal; Sylvia Ramachandran of Salt Lake City and Shauna McPherson of Fruit Heights.

Nationwide recipients include: Omar Husein of Fresno, Calif.; Adam Johnson of Los Angeles, Calif.; Markus Covert of Palo Alto, Calif.; Jennifer Lawrence of Martinez, Calif.; Douglas Gore of Aurora, Colo.; Jennifer Shipley of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; David Stewart of Severn, Md.; Laramie Taylor of Anoka, Minn.; MaryKay Orgill, Reno, Nev.; Jill Fillmore of Wyomissing, Pa.; Rachel Crook of Great Falls, Va.; Dorian Cundick of Springfield, Va.; and Heather Ferguson of Vienna, Va.