LDS number 16 in 106th Congress

Sixteen members of the Church from throughout the United States and American Samoa will serve in the 106th U.S. Congress when sessions begin January 1999.

Newly-elected members include Mike Simpson to the U.S. House of Representatives and Michael Crapo to the U.S. Senate. Both represent Idaho.Incumbent members re-elected to the U.S. House of Representatives include: Matt Salmon, Arizona; Wally Herger, John Doolittle, Buck McKeon and Ron Packard, California; Ernest Istook, Oklahoma; Jim Hansen, Merrill Cook and Chris Cannon, Utah; and Eni Faleomavaega, American Samoa.

Incumbent members re-elected to the U.S. Senate include: Harry Reid, Nevada; and Bob Bennett, Utah. They join Gordon Smith of Oregon and Orrin Hatch of Utah whose Senate posts were not up for election this year.

Congressman Eni Faleomavaega and Senator Harry Reid represent the Democratic Party. All others represent the Republican Party.