Seasiders win championships

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The Brigham Young University-Hawaii Seasiders have become the first school in NCAA Division II history to win both the men's and women's tennis championships in the same year. On May 13 in Kansas City, Mo., the Seasider's men's team downed Drury University (Springfield, Mo.), 5-4, for the title after the women had defeated Armstrong Atlantic State University (Savannah, Ga.), 5-1, earlier in the day.

The double feat has been accomplished five times in NCAA Division I play but Division II, despite five times having a school place both teams in the finals, had never had a double champion. The NAIA has also never had a double champion. BYU-Hawaii Coach Dave Porter also captured a dual win as coach of both teams. The only other coach to accomplish the feat at any level was Butch Newman of Trinity (Texas). All of the other dual winners in history had different coaches for their men's and women's teams. The championships served as an early birthday present from the players to Coach Porter who turned 50 the day after the championships.

BYU-Hawaii has won national titles four times previously in women's tennis (1997 and 1998 in the NAIA and 1999 and 2000 in NCAA II) while the men's team finished as the national runner-up twice in NAIA play. Last year the women finished second in Division II while the men took fourth. Both teams entered this year's tournament ranked No. 1 in the nation. The Seasider's women finished 29-0 for the season and are 132-1 over the past four years. The BYU-Hawaii men finished at 29-1 this year.