Women honored as Mothers of Year

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Two members of the Church were honored as exemplary mothers May 3 at a banquet for American Mothers Inc. Mervlyn K. Kitashima of Pearl City, Hawaii, was named the National 2003 Mother of the Year and Carole B. Gates of Henderson, Nev., was recognized as the National 2002 Young Mother Representative during the organization's weeklong convention, April 30- May 4, in Washington, D.C.

Sister Kitashima and Sister Gates were also their state's representatives along with 21 other Church members and other state representatives recognized at the annual convention held by American Mothers Inc. — long known for its efforts to strengthen the moral and spiritual foundations of the family and the home. (Articles about the national mothers will be published in a later Church News issue.)

Also honored at the banquet, held at the Ritz-Carlton in Arlington, Va., were Barbara B. Smith and Phyllis B. Marriott, both past presidents of American Mothers. Sister Smith served as Relief Society general president from 1974 to 1984.

Members of the Church honored as state 2003 Mothers of the Year were Donna L. Gross, Anchorage, Alaska; Genevra A. Bond, Mesa, Ariz.; Elaine T. Hardy, Las Vegas, Nev.; Melissa Heiselt, Powell, Ohio; Brenda M. Anthony, North Logan, Utah; Karen Kahmann, Spokane, Wash.; and Delsa F. Asay, Lovell, Wyo.

Recognized as state 2003 Young Mother Representatives were Jodie Kae Zufelt, Anchorage, Alaska; Leah Westover Brown, Mesa, Ariz.; Jana Ewing, Moorpark, Calif.; Brooke Spottiswood, Rockville, Md. (District of Columbia); Sharyl Edmiston Mitchell, Orlando, Fla.; Julie Robinson Smith, Alpharetta, Ga.; Lanett Harmon HoChing, Laie, Hawaii; Carla Harper, Indianapolis, Ind.; Lisa Harris, Bethesda, Md.; Samantha Burgin, Beaverton, Ore.; LaDawn Turley Stead, Spring, Texas; Sheri McKenna Egbert, Smithfield, Utah; Kimberly Wright Zirker, Warden, Wash.; and Elizabeth Nielson, Brookfield, Wis.