The Gila Valley Arizona Temple chronology

The Gila Valley Arizona Temple is a landmark among sacred edifices constructed by the Church: It is the first temple that President Thomas S. Monson has announced and dedicated since becoming President of the Church on Feb. 23, 2008.

He announced plans to build the temple on April 26, 2008. Ground was broken on Feb. 14, 2009. President Monson dedicated it on May 23, 2010.

Since he became President of the Church, he has dedicated seven new temples, all of which were announced by his predecessor, President Gordon B. Hinckley: Rexburg Idaho Temple (Feb. 10, 2008); Curitiba Brazil Temple (June 1, 2008); Panama City Panama Temple (Aug. 10, 2008); Twin Falls Idaho Temple (Aug. 24, 2008); Draper Utah Temple (March 20-22, 2009); Oquirrh Mountain Utah Temple (Aug. 21-23, 2009); and Vancouver British Columbia Temple (May 2, 2010).

President Monson rededicated the renovated Mexico City Mexico Temple (Nov. 16, 2008).

On June 13, he is to dedicate the Cebu Philippines Temple, and on Aug. 29, the Kyiv Ukraine Temple.

Related Links:

The Gila Valley Arizona Temple dedication events underway

Youth celebration depicts cultural history of eastern Arizona

The Gila Valley Arizona Temple: Cornerstone ceremony

New temple adds to Gila Valley's legacy

Video: Gila Valley Arizona Temple Dedication Activities

Video: Gila Valley Arizona Temple Slide Show

The Gila Valley plain and simple

Temple is beautiful just as foretold 110 years ago

Tears of joy flow in the presence of President Monson

The Gila Valley Arizona Temple Wilt Thou hallow this house

The Gila Valley Arizona Temple Photo gallery

Eternal significance of ordinances found only in the temple

Joy and gladness attend The Gila Valley temple dedication