Saturday morning speakers

Elder Neal A. Maxwell of the Council of the Twelve

Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin of the Council of the TwelveElder Joe J. Christensen of the Presidency of the Seventy

Elder Spencer J. Condie of the First Quorum of the Seventy

Elder Jeffrey R. Holland of the First Quorum of the Seventy

Presiding Bishop Robert D. Hales

"It's a beautiful autumn morning," President Gordon B. Hinckley, first counselor in the First Presidency, said as he opened the 163rd Semiannual Conference Saturday morning.

Conference-goers began lining up on Temple Square early in the morning. As the doors to the Tabernacle opened, the people filed in, packing the historic building. Hundreds of others also listened to proceedings on the grounds of Temple Square, in the Assembly Hall and in the Joseph Smith Memorial Building. During the session, three members of the First Quorum of the Seventy, Elders Jacob de Jager, Adney Y. Komatsu, and H. Burke Peterson, were granted emeritus status.

Providing music for the session was the Mormon Youth Chorus. Directing the choir was Robert C. Bowden, with Bonnie Goodliffe and Linda Margetts providing organ accompaniment. Elder Dallas N. Archibald and Elder Lino Alvarez of the Seventy offered the invocation and benediction, respectively.

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed