Most LDS incumbents came out as winners in Nov. 8 election

Most LDS incumbents in Congress in the Nov. 8 election won their elections. Those who won their races were:

American Samoa

Rep. Eni Faleomavaega, Democrat, American Samoa (non-voting delegate), fourth term.


Rep. John Doolittle, Republican, Second District (northern California), fourth term.

Rep. Wally Herger Republican, Fourth District (northern California), fifth term.

Rep. Howard "Buck" McKeon Republican, 25th District, (Santa Clarita area), second term.

Rep. Ron Packard, Republican, 48th District (northern San Diego, southern Orange counties), seventh term.


Rep. Michael Crapo, Republican, Second District (eastern Idaho), second term.


Rep. Ernest Istook, Republican, Fifth District, (northern Oklahoma City, northern Oklahoma), second term.


Sen. Orrin Hatch, a Republican, fourth term.

Rep. James V. Hansen, Republican, First District (northwestern to southwestern Utah), eighth term.

Rep. Bill Orton, Democrat, Third District (part of Salt Lake County, central and southern Utah), third term.

In addition, two LDS candidates won their first term as representatives to the U.S. House of Representatives. They are:

Enid Greene Waldholtz, Republican, Second District, (Salt Lake County), and Matt Salmon, a Republican from Arizona's First District (includes metropolitan areas in Tempe, Mesa).

Also, LDS candidates who lost high profile races in the Nov. 8 election were:

Larry Echohawk, a Democrat, who lost his bid to be Idaho's governor, and Mitt Romney, a Republican who lost his Massachusetts Senate race to Ted Kennedy.

Dick Swett, an LDS Democrat incumbent from New Hampshire, lost his bid for re-election to the U.S. House of Representatives.

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed