Tribes of Israel divided at death of King Solomon

At the death of Solomon, probably about 975 B.C., the kingdom was divided. The tribe of Judah and part of the tribe of Benjamin accepted Rehoboam, son and successor of Solomon, as their king; while the rest of the people, usually spoken of as the Ten Tribes, revolted against Rehoboam, thus breaking their allegiance with the house of David, and chose Jeroboam as their king.

The Ten Tribes under Jeroboam retained the title kingdom of Israel, though the kingdom was likewise known by the name of Ephraim from its most prominent tribe; while Rehoboam and his subjects were known as the kingdom of Judah. For about 250 years the two kingdoms maintained a separate existence; after which, about 721 B.C., the independent status of the kingdom of Israel was destroyed, and the people were brought into captivity by the Assyrians under Shalmanezer. (See “The Articles of Faith,” by James E. Talmage, pp. 317-318.)

Additional information:

Israel divided into two kingdoms

Baal influence leads Israel into apostasy

Editor’s note: This article was updated in January 2024 to add links to other references.

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed