New area assignments

With 28 areas in the Church, a majority of the members of the First and Second Quorums of the Seventy serve in area presidencies. Additional positions in the area presidencies are filled by Area Authority Seventies of the Third, Fourth and Fifth Quorums of the Seventy.

Members of the Seventy who are not in area presidencies serve in the Presidency of the Seventy, and as executive directors or assistant executive directors of various departments at Church headquarters. Members of the Seventy also serve as the Young Men and Sunday School general presidencies and on committees and special assignments.

Utah North

Alexander B. Morrison, President

Robert K. Dellenbach, First Counselor

John H. Groberg, Second Counselor

Utah South

Ben B. Banks, President

Dennis B. Neuenschwander, First Counselor

Neil L. Andersen, Second Counselor

North America Northwest

F. Melvin Hammond, President

Rex D. Pinegar, First Counselor

D. Lee Tobler, Second Counselor

North America West

John B. Dickson, President

John M. Madsen, First Counselor

Cecil O. Samuelson, Second Counselor

North America Central

Hugh W. Pinnock, President

Kenneth Johnson, First Counselor

Yoshihiko Kikuchi, Second Counselor

North America Northeast

Jay E. Jensen, President

Donald L. Staheli, First Counselor

Gary J. Coleman, Second Counselor

North America East

John K. Carmach, President

Loren C. Dunn, First Counselor

W. Don Ladd, Second Counselor

North America Southeast

Monte J. Brough, President

Gordon T. Watts, First Counselor

Stephen A. West, Second Counselor

North America Southwest

Lynn A. Mickelsen, President

Angel Abrea, First Counselor

Merrill C. Oaks, Second Counselor

Mexico North

Eran A. Call, President

Dale E. Miller, First Counselor

*Tomas Valdes, Second Counselor

Mexico South

Carl B. Pratt, President

Richard E. Turley Sr., First Counselor

*Octaviano Tenorio, Second Counselor

Central America

William R. Bradford, President

Lynn G. Robbins, First Counselor

*Julio E. Alvarado, Second Counselor

South America North

Francisco J. Vinas, President

Robert J. Whetten, First Counselor

*Walter F. Gonzalez, Second Counselor

Brazil North

Claudio R. M. Costa, President

J. Kent Jolley, First Counselor

*Iraja B. Soares, Second Counselor

Brazil South

W. Craig Zwick, President

Athos M. Amorim, First Counselor

*Adhemar Damiani, Second Counselor

South America West

Richard J. Maynes, President

Ned B. Roueche, First Counselor

*Juan Uceda, Second Counselor

South America South

Carlos H. Amado, President

Richard D. Allred, First Counselor

*Hugo A. Catron, Second Counselor


Dallas N. Archibald, President

Jerald L. Taylor, First Counselor

*Eduardo A. Lamartine, Second Counselor

Europe North

Spencer J. Condie, President

W. Rolfe Kerr, First Counselor

*John Maxwell, Second Counselor

Europe West

Dieter F. Uchtdorf, President

Gene R. Cook, First Counselor

F. Burton Howard, Second Counselor

Europe East

Charles Didier, President

F. Enzio Busche, First Counselor

Wayne M. Hancock, Second Counselor

Africa West

James O. Mason, President

Glenn L. Pace, First Counselor

*Emmanuel O. Opare Sr., Second Counselor

Africa Southeast

Dennis E. Simmons, President

Ray H. Wood, First Counselor

*Christoffel Golden Jr., Second Counselor

Asia North

L. Lionel Kendrick, President

L. Edward Brown, First Counselor

E. Ray Bateman, Second Counselor


Cree-L Kofford, President

Richard E. Cook, First Counselor

H. Bryan Richards, Second Counselor


Sheldon F. Child, President

Duane B. Gerrard, First Counselor

Val R. Christensen, Second Counselor

Pacific Islands

Quentin L. Cook, President

Ronald T. Halverson, First Counselor

Earl M. Monson, Second Counselor

Australia/New Zealand

Vaughn J. Featherstone, President

Burce C. Hafen, First Counselor

*P. Bruce Mitchell, Second Counselor

*Area Authority Seventies

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed