Temples renamed to uniform guidelines

As a result of the increasing number of temples worldwide, a uniform naming guideline for temples has been announced by the First Presidency.

The naming guideline applies to all of the 115 existing or planned temples.

The guideline provides for the temple names to primarily include the city and state or province, or the city and country in which they are located. In Mexico, however, to avoid confusion some of the temples are named after the city and country, while others are named after the city, state and country. For example, the temple in Colonia Juarez includes its state name, Chihuahua, while the temple in Ciudad Juarez, which is also in the state of Chihuahua, does not. Some of the temple names were also altered to give clarity because of local usage, such as Bogota D.C. Colombia Temple, Caracas D. F. Venezuela Temple and Mexico City D.F. Temple.

Two of the existing temples, Alberta and Arizona, were originally named after a province or state. Under the new naming system, these temples now become the Cardston Alberta Temple and the Mesa Arizona Temple. The Swiss and New Zealand temples were originally named after a country, but now become the Bern Switzerland Temple and Hamilton New Zealand Temple.

The Hong Kong Temple becomes the Hong Kong China Temple and the Jordan River Temple becomes the Jordan River Utah Temple.

Only the Salt Lake Temple retains its original name. The only other exception to having the name of a state, province or country attached to the temple name is the Winter Quarters Temple, which was named the Omaha Nebraska Temple when it was first announced.

In the announcement, the First Presidency also said the location of the New York temple, originally announced for White Plains, will be in Harrison, N.Y.

A similar naming system was applied to stakes in February 1974, when there were 631 stakes, and to missions in June 1974, when there were 109 missions. Today, there are more than 2,530 stakes and 333 missions.

The official temple names, with an asterisk marking those with name changes, are:

Accra Ghana

Adelaide Australia

Albuquerque New Mexico

Anchorage Alaska

Apia Samoa

Atlanta Georgia

Baton Rouge Louisiana

Bern Switzerland*

Billings Montana

Birmingham Alabama

Bismarck North Dakota

Bogota D.C. Colombia*

Boise Idaho

Boston Massachusetts

Bountiful Utah

Brisbane Australia

Buenos Aires Argentina

Campinas Brazil

Caracas D. F. Venezuela*

Cardston Alberta*

Chicago Illinois

Ciudad Juarez Mexico*

Cochabamba Bolivia

Colonia Juarez Chihuahua Mexico

Columbia South Carolina

Columbus Ohio

Copenhagen Denmark

Dallas Texas

Denver Colorado

Detroit Michigan

Edmonton Alberta

Frankfurt Germany

Freiberg Germany

Fresno California

Fukuoka Japan

Guadalajara Mexico

Guatemala City Guatemala*

Guayaquil Ecuador

Halifax Nova Scotia

Hamilton New Zealand*

Harrison New York*

Hermosillo Sonora Mexico*

Hong Kong China*

Houston Texas

Idaho Falls Idaho*

Johannesburg South Africa

Jordan River Utah*

Kiev Ukraine

Kona Hawaii

Laie Hawaii

Las Vegas Nevada

Lima Peru

Logan Utah*

London England*

Los Angeles California*

Louisville Kentucky

Madrid Spain

Manila Philippines

Manti Utah*

Medford Oregon

Melbourne Australia

Memphis Tennessee

Merida Yucatan Mexico

Mesa Arizona*

Mexico City D.F. Mexico*

Monterrey Mexico

Montevideo Uruguay

Monticello Utah

Montreal Quebec

Mount Timpanogos Utah

Nashville Tennessee

Nauvoo Illinois

Nuku'alofa Tonga

Oakland California*

Oaxaca Mexico*

Ogden Utah*

Oklahoma City Oklahoma

Orlando Florida

Palmyra New York

Papeete Tahiti

Perth Australia

Portland Oregon

Porto Alegre Brazil

Preston England

Provo Utah*

Raleigh North Carolina

Recife Brazil

Regina Saskatchewan

Reno Nevada

St. George Utah*

St. Louis Missouri

St. Paul Minnesota

Salt Lake

San Diego California

San Jose Costa Rica

Santiago Chile

Santo Domingo Dominican Republic

Sao Paulo Brazil*

Seattle Washington

Seoul South Korea*

Spokane Washington

Stockholm Sweden

Suva Fiji

Sydney Australia

Taipei Taiwan

Tampico Mexico*

The Hague Netherlands

Tokyo Japan*

Toronto Ontario

Tuxtla Gutierrez Mexico*

Veracruz Mexico*

Vernal Utah

Villahermosa Tabasco Mexico

Washington D.C.

Winter Quarters*

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed