Missions created on opposite sides of Africa

Missions in Ghana, Uganda will be Church's 340th, 341st

The creation of two new missions, located on opposite sides of the African continent, will improve proclaiming the message of the Restoration as well as the administration of Church affairs among countries covering great distances and many cultures.

The Ghana Cape Coast Mission and the Uganda Kampala Mission, announced by the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve, will be organized around July 1. They become the 340th and 341st missions of the Church.

Newly called mission presidents are: Norbert Kalogo Ounleu to preside over the Ivory Coast Abidjan Mission, Ralph L Duke to preside over the Uganda Kampala Mission; Lindsay Thomas Dil has been reassigned from the Ivory Coast Abidjan Mission to preside over the Ghana Cape Coast Mission.

(Biographies of these newly called presidents will be reported in an upcoming issue of Church News.)

The Ivory Coast Abidjan Mission, which was comprised of the five countries of Ivory Coast, Togo, Benin, Cameroon and Central African Republic, has been reorganized to include just the country of Ivory Coast.

The new Ghana Cape Coast Mission will include the western half of Ghana as well as the countries of Togo, Benin, Cameroon and the Central African Republic.

The Ghana Accra Mission will include the eastern half of Ghana and the countries of Sierra Leone and Liberia.

The Ghana Cape Coast Mission includes 13,590 members organized among the Cape Coast Ghana, Kumasi Ghana and Takoradi Ghana stakes, and the Assin Foso Ghana and Swedru Ghana districts.

The Ghana Accra Mission includes 19,151 members in the Accra Ghana Christiansborg, Accra Ghana Lartebiokorshie and Monrovia Liberia stakes, and the Abomosu Ghana, Bo Sierra Leone, Freetown Sierra Leone and Koforidua Ghana districts.

The Ivory Coast Abidjan Mission includes 9,419 members in the Abidjan and Abobo stakes. An estimated 80 million people reside in the eight countries covered by the Ivory Coast Abidjan, Ghana Accra and Ghana Cape Coast missions.

The four countries that comprised the Kenya Nairobi Mission were divided to create the Uganda Kampala Mission, comprised of Uganda and Ethiopia, and the Kenya Nairobi Mission, including Kenya and Tanzania.

The Uganda Kampala Mission includes 3,959 members in the Jinja Uganda and the Kampala Uganda districts.

The Kenya Nairobi Mission includes 6,099 members in the Nairobi Kenya Stake and the Chyulu Kenya District. An estimated 165 million people reside in the four countries covered by the Uganda and Kenya missions.

E-mail to:

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed