Timeline of the Church and Boy Scouts of America

Following is a timeline of the Church's century-long relationship with the Boy Scouts of America:

1907 — Scouting movement is founded in England by British General Robert Baden-Powell.

1910 — The Boy Scouts of America is incorporated as an organization; later that year, the first Scout unit in Utah is formed.

1913 — The Church officially joins the Boy Scouts of America as its first charter organization, adopting the program as the activity arm of its Mutual Improvement Association.

1928 — The Church designates Scouting as the official activity program for young men ages 12-16.

1952 — The Church announces Primary will sponsor Cub Scouting, with 11-year-old Scouts a part of a Guide Patrol under the Primary’s direction.

1954 — The Duty to God Award is created for boys ages 12-18.

1970 — The Venturing program is created for young men ages 14-15, while those 16-18 are Explorers.

1978 — Latter-day Saint leaders in Utah develop the Varsity program to eventually replace the Church’s Venturing program in 1983 and become a BSA program in 1984.

2017 — The Church drops Scouting’s Varsity and Venturing from its Young Men’s program for boys ages 14 through 17, effective Jan. 1, 2018.

Source: Deseret News Almanac, and Deseret News archive

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed