A latter-day first: Church has 4 nonagenarian apostles, including entire First Presidency

President Eyring turned 90 years old on May 31, joining President Nelson, 98; President Ballard, 94; and President Oaks, 90

With President Henry B. Eyring, second counselor in the First Presidency, celebrating his 90th birthday Wednesday, May 31, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has for the first time four nonagenarian apostles, including all three members of the First Presidency.

Leading the four who are 90 years or older is President Russell M. Nelson, the 98-year-old Church President, who will turn 99 in September and has been since April 14, 2022, the Church’s longest-living President.

President Dallin H. Oaks, first counselor in the First Presidency, celebrated his 90th birthday last August, and President M. Russell Ballard, Acting President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles is 94 and will turn 95 in October.

Read more from about the blessings of age in leadership here. See a comparison of the First Presidency’s length of tenure to others in Church history here.

Related Stories
The blessings of age — Elder Holland’s essay on the First Presidency
Current First Presidency, Quorum of Twelve Apostles are the 6th-longest tenured in Church history

It is only the seventh time in the Church’s 193-year history that two or more of the senior leaders — presidents of the Church, counselors in the First Presidency or members of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles — have been 90 years old or older at the same time.

It first happened on July 19, 1966, when President Joseph Fielding Smith, who at the time was both President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and an additional First Presidency counselor, turned 90, joining 92-year-old Church President David O. McKay. President Smith succeeded President McKay following the latter’s death at age 96 in early 1970; President Smith lived to be 95.

On June 23, 2000, Church President Gordon B. Hinckley turned 90. Elder David B. Haight was 93 years old at the time — and lived four more years before passing at the age of 97.

Nearly three years after Elder Haight’s death, President Hinckley was briefly joined by another member of the Twelve, Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin, who turned 90 on June 11, 2007. President Hinckley celebrated his 97th birthday two weeks later and lived for six more months.

The first time the Church had three Apostles in their 90s came in 2014. Elder L. Tom Perry had turned 90 in August 2012 and was 92 when President Nelson, then a member of the Quorum of the Twelve, turned 90 on Sept. 9, 2014, and President Boyd K. Packer, Acting President of the Twelve, turned 90 the following day. Elder Perry died eight months later and President Packer passed away a little more than a month after that.

President Nelson was nearly 93 years old and President of the Twelve when Church President Thomas S. Monson turned 90 on Aug. 17, 2017. President Monson died five months later.

President Nelson was 94 when President Ballard turned 90 on Oct, 8, 2018. And President Oaks made the Church’s second-ever trio of nonagenarian apostles when he turned 90 on Aug. 12 of last year, with President Nelson 97 and President Ballard 93.

The group of apostles in their 90s will remain rather exclusive for some time, as the next oldest members of the Twelve — Elder Jeffrey R. Holland, Elder Dieter F. Uchtdorf and Elder Quentin L. Cook — are each 82 years old.

Latter-day apostles who reached 90 years of age


Apostle                                 Turned 90                 Death date                Age at death  Current

Wilford Woodruff                  March 1, 1897           Sept. 2, 1898              91       

Charles W. Penrose               Feb. 4, 1922               May 16, 1925             93       

J. Reuben Clark                      Sept. 1, 1961              Oct. 6, 1961               90       

David O. McKay                     Sep. 8, 1963               Jan. 18, 1970              96       

Joseph Fielding Smith           July 19, 1966              July 2, 1972                95       

Hugh B. Brown                       Oct. 24, 1973             Dec. 2, 1975               92       

LeGrand Richards                   Feb. 6, 1976              Jan. 11, 1983              96       

Spencer W. Kimball               March 28, 1985         Nov. 5, 1985               90       

Marion G. Romney                Sept. 19, 1987            May 20, 1988             90       

Ezra Taft Benson                    Aug. 4, 1989              May 30, 1994            94       

David B. Haight                      Sept. 2, 1996             July 31, 2004             97       

Gordon B. Hinckley                June 23, 2000           Jan. 27, 2008            97       

Joseph B. Wirthlin                  June 11, 2007             Dec. 1, 2008               91       

L. Tom Perry                           Aug. 5, 2012               May 30, 2015             92       

Russell M. Nelson                  Sept. 9, 2014                                                                          98

Boyd K. Packer                       Sept. 10, 2014            July 3, 2015               90       

Thomas S. Monson                Aug. 21, 2017             Jan. 2, 2018                90       

M. Russell Ballard                  Oct. 8, 2018                                                                           94

Dallin H. Oaks                        Aug. 12, 2022                                                                         90

Henry B. Eyring                      May 31, 2023                                                                         90



Multiple nonagenarian latter-day apostles

Apostle                                 Turned 90

David O. McKay                     Sep. 8, 1963

Joseph Fielding Smith            July 19, 1966  

David B. Haight                      Sept. 2, 1996

Gordon B. Hinckley                June 23, 2000 

Gordon B. Hinckley                June 23, 2000 

Joseph B. Wirthlin                  June 11, 2007 

L. Tom Perry                           Aug. 5, 2012

Russell M. Nelson                  Sept. 9, 2014

Boyd K. Packer                       Sept. 10, 2014

Russell M. Nelson                  Sept. 9, 2014

Thomas S. Monson                Aug. 21, 2017 

Russell M. Nelson                  Sept. 9, 2014  

M. Russell Ballard                  Oct. 8, 2018   

Dallin H. Oaks                        Aug. 12, 2022 

Henry B. Eyring                      May 31, 2023 

Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed