Menu

How to watch, listen to ‘O Holy Night,’ the Tabernacle Choir’s 2021 Christmas concert

‘O Holy Night’ will premiere on PBS starting Dec. 13 and on BYUtv starting Dec. 18

The Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square’s Christmas concert has been broadcast on PBS since the 2003 concert was shown in 2004.

The 2021 Christmas Celtic-themed concert, “O Holy Night: Christmas with The Tabernacle Choir” with Tony Award-nominated Broadway actor Megan Hilty and film and television actor Neal McDonough will be broadcast on PBS starting on Tuesday, Dec. 13, at 6 p.m. MST (8 p.m. EST) and on BYUtv on Sunday, Dec. 18, at 6 p.m. MST (8 p.m. EST). More times are listed below. It will be available to stream on each channel’s streaming platform after the initial airings and is also available on DVD. See the listings on the Tabernacle Choir’s website and below. 

A gift to the community, the concert features the 360-voice Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square, the 85 Orchestra at Temple Square instrumentalists, and the 32-person Bells at Temple Square ensemble. Gabriel’s Trumpets and dancers have also participated in the performances. See thetabernaclechoir.org/christmas for more on music, videos, playlists and more from past Christmas concerts.

Related Story
Tabernacle Choir’s Celtic-themed Christmas performance celebrates family, Irish traditions

PBS viewing times: 

  • Tuesday, Dec. 13, at 6 p.m. MST (8 p.m. EST)
  • Tuesday, Dec. 20, at 11 p.m. MST (PBS Utah; check PBS.org elsewhere)
  • Saturday, Dec. 24, at 8 p.m. MST (PBS Utah; check PBS.org elsewhere)

It will also be available across PBS’s video streaming platforms including PBS.org, the PBS app, and PBS’s OTT (“over the top”) channels after the initial airing on Dec. 13. 

BYUtv viewing times: 

  • Sunday, Dec. 18, at 6 p.m. MST (8 p.m. EST)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 21, at 6:30 p.m. MST (8:30 p.m. EST)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 21, at 9 p.m. MST (11 p.m. EST)
  • Friday, Dec. 23, at 7:30 p.m. MST (9:30 p.m. EST)
  • Saturday, Dec. 24, at 5 p.m. MST (7 p.m. EST)

It will also be available at BYUtv.org and on the BYUtv app after the initial airing on Dec. 18. 

These previous Tabernacle Choir Christmas concerts are also airing on BYUtv:

  • “Christmas with The Tabernacle Choir featuring Kelli O’Hara and Richard Thomas”: Sunday, Dec. 25, 2:10 a.m. MST (4:10 a.m. EST)
  • “20 Years of Christmas with The Tabernacle Choir”: Wednesday, Dec. 14, 6:30 p.m. MST (8:30 p.m. EST); Wednesday, Dec. 21, 11 a.m. MST (1 p.m. EST); Wednesday, Dec. 24, 7 a.m. MST; Saturday, Dec. 24 at 7 a.m. MST (9 a.m. EST)

Television listings are subject to change. See the listings on the Tabernacle Choir’s website and also check with your television provider.

Mack Wilberg, music director of the Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square, center, thanks special guests Neal McDonough, left, and Megan Hilty, right, at the conclusion of a taping for the “Christmas With the Tabernacle Choir” television special at the Conference Center in Salt Lake City on Friday, Dec. 17, 2021. | Spenser Heaps, Deseret News
Related Stories
Tabernacle Choir announces guest artist for 2022 Christmas concert to perform for live audience
See the 50+ past guest artists and narrators at the Tabernacle Choir Christmas concerts
Tabernacle Choir announces narrator for upcoming Christmas concert

How to listen to the 2021 Christmas concert

The music from the concert is available to listen through various services, including Spotify, Apple Music, Pandora, Amazon Music, YouTube, iTunes Store and on CD. See tabernaclechoir.ffm.to/holynight.

Also, the full playlist is also available on the Tabernacle Choir’s YouTube channel. Here are several of the songs:

Watch “Christmas Is Coming, So Deck the Halls” featuring Megan Hilty from the 2021 Christmas concert:

Watch “Jesus, Jesus, Rest Your Head” from the 2021 Christmas concert:

Watch “O Holy Night” from the 2021 Christmas concert:

Listen to “The Holly and the Ivy” featuring Megan Hilty from the 2021 Christmas concert:

Listen to “God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen” featuring the Orchestra at Temple Square from the 2021 Christmas concert:

Listen to “On This Day, Earth Shall Ring” from the 2021 Christmas concert:

Listen to “A Celtic Christmas” from the 2021 Christmas concert:

Listen to “Three Irish Traditions” featuring Neal McDonough from the 2021 Christmas concert:

Listen to “Angels from the Realms of Glory” featuring Megan Hilty from the 2021 Christmas concert:

How to watch the 2022 Christmas concert

After two years of pandemic-related precautions, the Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square’s Christmas concert will be open to the public this year, as the concert in 2020 was canceled and the 2021 concert had a limited audience.

The concert is Thursday, Dec. 15, to Saturday, Dec. 17. Tickets for the event have been distributed and were available through an online registration and random selection in October. As with past Christmas concerts, it’s anticipated it will be available to watch on PBS and BYUtv during the 2023 Christmas season. 

On the Sunday morning following the concert, some concert repertoire and the guest artists are usually featured during the “Music & the Spoken Word” broadcast. The Sunday, Dec. 18, “Music & the Spoken Word” broadcast will be in the Conference Center and tickets are not required. See where to watch or stream the weekly broadcast on thetabernaclechoir.org.

Newsletters
Subscribe for free and get daily or weekly updates straight to your inbox
The three things you need to know everyday
Highlights from the last week to keep you informed

See recent humanitarian projects in Romania, Italy, Kazakhstan, Belarus and Portugal.

This week’s study guide includes Nephi’s teachings on Jesus Christ and the prophet Isaiah.

During the week of Feb. 25 to March 2, President Holland taught leaders in Washington, D.C., Elder Bednar and Elder Kearon ministered in West Africa, and more.

On the eve of RootsTech, the largest global family history conference, genealogist David Lambert gave FamilySearch CEO Steve Rockwood a priceless family treasure that he will always cherish.

Former BYU basketball star Jimmer Fredette and his wife, Whitney, demonstrated the ease of preserving memories on FamilySearch by sharing personal stories in a class at RootsTech.

The Emmy and Tony Award-winning performer delighted the audience with personal stories and a selection of songs.